Met my donation goal in 12 hours!

Yesterday, I set up a Kickstarter campaign to help fund my first feature-length film, Shredder, which I am writing, directing, and acting in. Up until now I had been funding the film entirely out of my own pocket. With the campaign, my goal was to raise $350 in donations within 90 days– in less than 12 hours, I met my goal.

I am blown away by the generosity of my donors. This has been one of the most exciting and inspiring days of my life. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d meet my goal in such a short amount of time. I thank you all from the bottom of my heart.

The truth is, though, I need a lot more money than what I asked for in donations to make this film. The reason I only asked for $350 is because the way Kickstarter operates is that if you do not meet your goal– even if you’re only a few bucks off by the time your campaign ends– your donors are not charged what they pledged to give and you receive no money. I wanted to play it safe, as I definitely need the money and can’t afford the possibility of not meeting my goal.

Kickstarter also allows you to exceed your goal though, so If you have not yet donated to the campaign but would still like to, you are able to until August 30th. Any money donated will really help my production out, as every expense is coming out of my own pocket, and my cast and crew are all working free. Every one of them is here because they believe in the film and in the importance of individualist film productions.

To find out more about my campaign, please check out my Kickstarter page. There are plenty of great rewards on there if you choose to donate. For instance, even if you only donate $1, you will be listed in the closing credits as a Kickstarter donor.

Thank you to everyone who has donated and anyone even entertaining the idea of donating. I appreciate you helping me out or even just hearing me out, and I hope you enjoy the film!

This entry was posted in Announcements, Essays & Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

