Fuck LivingSocial

I recently had an awful experience with LivingSocial. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the site, it’s like GroupOn– you pay an amount of money to get a higher amount of money off of a purchase. For example, paying $10 for $20 coupon at a restaurant you like. Great in theory– until something goes wrong with your order. They have the worst customer service I’ve ever encountered.

I purchased a coupon from them over a week ago, as I’d done twice previous without a hitch. But this time, a day after my purchase, I receive the following email:

Our records show that your credit card was already used to make another purchase for this exact deal. Our policy only allows one purchase per credit card, per deal. Your first purchase will be honored, but all subsequent purchases for this particular deal will not be valid.

We apologize for any inconvenience, but rules da rules.

The problem is, I didn’t try and purchase the deal twice. I purchased the deal once.  There must have been some sort of glitch. So I contacted them, explaining this. What do I receive back? This condescending shit that doesn’t remedy the situation whatsoever:

We’re sorry you experienced a problem with your deal purchase.

Upon reviewing your account, it appears you have made multiple
purchases of this deal on more than one account.  This is a violation of
LivingSocial’s terms and conditions and has resulted in the
cancellation of your duplicate purchase.

While we love for our customers to take advantage of our great deals, so that as many as possible can get in on it, some deals do come with restrictions on the quantity you may purchase.  So you’re aware of any restrictions prior to purchasing, we always place this information in the ‘Fine Print’ section, associated with the deal.

We appreciate your understanding in this matter.  If you have further concerns regarding the situation, please feel free to reply to this email to let us know and we’ll be happy to assist you further. 

I write back stating that this has not helped me at all. I did not attempt to make multiple purchases. I do not have two accounts. If I do have two accounts, something must be wrong in the system, and this should be remedied.

That night, I notice that I receive duplicate emails from them about a new deal. So I contact them again, explaining everything that has occurred up to this point, including the duplicate emails I’m now getting, again reiterating that something must be going wrong on their end. Here’s what I get back:

It looks like you are currently subscribed to New York and NYC: Downtown, which is why you received to emails for our Adventure deal in NYC today. We are currently working on your purchase being canceled and will be in contact as soon as we have an update. 

Thanks for LivingSocial! 

Fair enough, that explains the double email. But it doesn’t explain anything else I asked them about! So I wait for them to get back to me. Many days past. Nothing. I contact them one last time explaining everything that has happened so far, and that I’m fed up, and would like to close my account, but can’t find anywhere on the site to do so. I receive back:

We’re sorry to see you go. You have been unsubscribed.

We’ll miss you!

The LivingSocial Team

I go onto the website to try and login. My account is still fully active. And I’m not even unsubscribed to any of their emails! They didn’t even do that! I had to do that myself.

At this point, I have no idea what to do. This is retarded. I just want people to know how non-existant their customer service is, and that apparently it’s impossible to close your account, should you want to. Deal with them with caution.

This entry was posted in Essays & Rants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fuck LivingSocial

  1. Rich says:

    Sounds like trouble. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

